When I don’t feel well physically I head for a hot shower. If a tornado is coming your way you go to your safe place. We teach our children at a young age what is a safe place and what is not a safe place. But where is my safe place when my enemies are trying to destroy me emotionally or spiritually? Where do I go when there is nothing but blackness and confusion all around?

Proverbs 18:10 says, “The name of the LORD is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe.”

King David of the Bible practiced this all the time when his enemy, the very one who was ruler over him, was trying desperately to kill him and keep him from ascending to the throne that God Almighty had given him. He practiced it when his own son was trying to take the kingdom from him. When you read the Psalms you see David continually talking to God and not those who were trying to destroy him.

It was a different story back in the Garden when Eve entered into a conversation with the serpent instead of talking to the Lord. She lost her “Safe Place” which was paradise because she ran into the wrong tower. Our words make the difference in losing paradise or gaining safety in the midst of life’s daily struggles.

David said in Psalm 18:29, “For by thee I have run through a troop; and by my God have I leaped over a wall.” We can run into a strong tower and run through a troop if we will only embrace the Lord in our situations instead of accepting all the negative words and accusations of the enemy.

As the group 7eventh Time Down sings, “Just say Jesus!” It is the Safe Place!

