Hosea 13:2-3

And now they sin more and more, and have made them molten images of their silver, and idols according to their own understanding, all of it the work of the craftsmen: they say of them, Let the men that sacrifice kiss the calves.

Therefore they shall be as the morning cloud, and as the early dew that passeth away, as the chaff that is driven with the whirlwind out of the floor, and as the smoke out of the chimney.

“Therefore they shall.”  Who is the “they” in Hosea 13:3? “They” are the redeemed who turned to idolatry and made molten images of their silver, and idols according to their own understanding. How can we be redeemed by our Creator’s love and turn around and make our own idols according to our own understanding? We are redeemed by love and then we deal with God’s creation around us out of hate and self serving idols we have fabricated from our own understanding.  How do I know what God’s way of love is in any particular situation unless I spend time with Him at His altar?  I don’t mind serving as long as it is convenient and in the manner I choose.  

How do I know what God’s plan is for anyone unless I’m walking in His way of love? When I think I know what you are supposed to be, do, act like or where you should live I need to run for God’s altar and begin to remember the love He poured out on me.

My own understanding causes me to be 1) as the morning cloud, 2) as the early dew that passeth away, 3) as the chaff that is driven with the whirlwind out of the floor, and 4) as the smoke out of the chimney

There is no stability in any of these things and what the world really needs to see in these days of micro-processing fast and ever increasing speeds is the stability and infinite depth of God’s love.  Let us go display God’s love today instead of forcing everyone to worship the idol of my own understanding.

