Matthew 14:28-29

And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water. And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus.

When we face internal conflict how do we handle it? Do we try to change everyone and everything around us or do we rise up to a higher level in our life and learn to “walk on the water?” The negative vibrations of internal conflict in our lives will often have a negative affect in our life if not dealt with and reconciled. Internal conflict can affect us physically, emotionally, financially, spiritually and a host of other ways. 

One way of dealing with internal conflict can be seen in the story of Peter walking on the water. When there is a storm raging on the inside of us it is because we are facing some type of internal conflict. Peter lifted his eyes above the waves and focused on Jesus, the Prince of Peace. As long as Peter focused on Jesus he also was able to walk on the water. However, when he took his eyes off Jesus he begin to sink. The story goes on and after Peter and Jesus were in the boat the bible says that everyone who was in the boat came and worshiped Jesus.

When the stormy winds begin to blow, instead of looking at all the waves, we can look at what is causing the conflict within us. What is happening that conflicts with my core beliefs? The fact that there is a storm on my sea is proof that I am in conflict. When I resolve the internal conflict inside me, those around me will see the love and goodness of God. The way for someone around me to see God’s love is for me to resolve the internal conflict and allow the Prince of Peace to rule in my life.

What a priceless treasure to be able to live in peace in the midst of the storms of life.

