Matthew 22:36-40

Master, which is the great commandment in the law? Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.

We are commanded to love our neighbor as ourself. I can’t really love anyone around me until I love myself.  Not loving yourself can result in compulsive behavior and/or addictions as we search for pleasure in self and try to mask the feelings of self hate.  The vibrations inside of me caused by not loving myself can destroy my health, my relationships and my prosperity and productivity in life. 

We must learn to love ourself like Christ loves us. He forgives us and forgets the wrongs and mistakes we have made. 

Forgive yourself for the wrongs and mistakes in your life. Put them behind the back of God and forget them. Love who God has allowed you to be and become in life.  

Our self worth does not come from what the church thinks about us or about what some individual thinks or says about us. I am a child of the King and God’s creation and He didn’t make a mistake. If I have a problem with my neighbor I have a problem with a part of God’s creation. 

As I learn to love myself I will then be able to love others and be able to help them and share the love of God with them.  

