Acts 16:24

Who, having received such a charge, thrust them into the inner prison, and made their feet fast in the stocks.

Paul and Silas were imprisoned, they had been whipped and their feet were in stocks so they couldn’t even leave the situation they were in.  How many times have we been imprisoned by a situation of life and we would have certainly ran from it if we had been able.  Some how our feet were being held fast in that prison and we just could not escape the darkness of the midnight hour.

Their feet were in stocks.  In Acts 5:30 the same word is used and is translated as tree.  “The God of our fathers raised up Jesus, whom ye slew and hanged on a tree.”

Just as Jesus was crucified although He had done no wrong, Paul and Silas also had been imprisoned although they had done no wrong,  Not so with me.  I certainly have plenty of faults and failures in my life and have made wrong choices and mistakes.  

Paul and Silas didn’t get an attitude over their wrongful persecution but instead sang praises to God Almighty at the midnight hour.  A good attitude and singing praises to the Lord in their darkest hour resulted in an earthquake that opened the doors of the prison and brought salvation to their jailer and his whole house.

How much more for me when I sing praises with a good attitude when often it’s my own choices that have imprisoned me?! 

