Psalm 46:10

Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.

I can know God?  Is that even possible?  

Yes I know God.  I know Him as my Redeemer but do I really know this infinite being?  The Bible says that we can know Him and to know Him all I have to do is “be still”.  

To be still means to let drop, abandon, relax, refrain and to let go.  In so many words, let go of, relax and abandon my efforts to fix, control and redeem everything and everybody around me.

Be still and know that I am God.  The word know in this verse is the same word when Adam knew his wife and she conceived.  

So when I give up trying to be God and I let Him be the God He is, I will experience the birth of a new knowledge in me of Him and His infinity.   

When I can just be still in the midst of the storm and trust God Almighty to do what is right by me and everyone else involved, I know I am reaching a new level of marriage union with the lover of my soul.  In Mark the fourth chapter Jesus was asleep in the hinder part of the ship as a storm threatened  to sink the ship.  When the Disciples awakened Jesus, He spoke to the storm and said, “Peace, be still.”  The ship and everyone in it was saved.  

When the waves and storms of life threaten to drown me and sink my ship I am rescued when I can be still and know that He is God.  If I sow stillness in my soul I shall surely reap stillness in the storm.

I can know the infinite God!  All I have to do is be still. 

