John 13:34-35
A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another. By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.

A new commandment, “That ye love one another; as I have loved you.”

It was a new commandment because Jesus had just acted out the commandment in front of His Disciples. He had just shared the sop with Judas knowing that Judas was going out to betray Him. Sharing a sop was a way of publicly displaying your love for someone in front of all present. Jesus knew Judas was the traitor and yet He publicly says with His actions, I love you. He didn’t just say the words but put action with the words.

I think we become comfortable with saying, I love my brother but they have this problem or they won’t believe like us so please pray for them. Or we say, I really love that group of people but they are different from us so be careful. So we take our love and wrap it in hate.

That’s not what Jesus did. He did exactly the opposite. He wrapped Judas’ hate in love with public action.

No wonder Jesus had to go outside the church and religious order of the day to do what He was sent to do. It seems like every time He went inside they were wrapping His love with hate. Yet when He went outside and healed, cleansed and preached love, it was received and shared with others.

A new commandment, “That ye love one another; as I have loved you.” How did Jesus love me? He loved me unconditionally. He forgave me unconditionally. He took the judgment for me. It didn’t matter who I was or wasn’t. It didn’t matter what I had or didn’t have. It didn’t matter what color I was or what language I spoke. It didn’t matter which side of town I lived on or where I went to church. He loved me unconditionally.

Love is unconditional. Let us not wrap it in hate.

