1 Corinthians 13:2

And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing.

Religious nothingness. The Apostle Paul was very clear in this passage of scripture that we can be all kinds of religious and still be nothing. “And have not charity, I am nothing.”

The word translated as charity is the Greek word agapae which means affection, good will, love, benevolence, brotherly love and love feasts.

It doesn’t matter how many times a week I go to church, what my religious title is or what my religious position is, if I have not charity, if I have not love, “I am nothing.”

The church is full of religious nothingness. It is time we returned to loving one another and reaching out in the love of God to those whom God allows to cross our paths in the course of our day. Can we love those who are different from us and don’t do it like we think they should? I think if I understood how God saw my faults and failures and still loved me I would be more tolerant and able to love my neighbor in all their imperfections.

1 Peter 4:8, And above all things have fervent charity among yourselves: for charity shall cover the multitude of sins. I seems we don’t mind professing love for our brother and sister as long as we find a way to expose and talk about their issues.

True love shall cover the multitude of sins.

