3 John 1:11

Beloved, follow not that which is evil, but that which is good. He that doeth good is of God: but he that doeth evil hath not seen God.

The Greek word for good here means pleasant, agreeable, joyful, happy.

Here is the measuring stick for what I am doing. Is it pleasant and agreeable? Does it bring joy and happiness to my life and my family?

I think many times we do things because that’s what we’ve always done or because we were raised that way or we do things out of fear and many other reasons. However, if what I’m doing is really pleasing to the Lord there is a pleasant, agreeable joyfulness that accompanies it. How many Christians continue on in the same religious traditions because that’s what they have always done?

“He that doeth good is of God: but he that doeth evil hath not seen God.” We say we love the Lord and we’re serving God and yet the whole time we are judging everyone around us and condemning them because they aren’t living like us so they must have a problem. In reality we are miserable because we aren’t happy with the circumstances we are in.

If I am truly where God wants me to be at this point in my journey then there is a pleasant agreeableness in my soul and I am filled with joyful happiness. How can it be any other way if I am where God wants me to be?

Abraham experienced this repeatedly in his life.

In Genesis chapter twelve the LORD told Abraham, “Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee:”

Abraham didn’t even know where he was supposed to go, only that he was going. However it was pleasant and agreeable to Abraham’s spirit so he did just that and miraculously God lead him every step of the way.

The simplicity is overwhelming. If I am doing good there is a pleasant agreeableness full of joy that accompanies it. If what I am doing is not right, there is a disagreeable taste in my mouth and the joy of the Lord just is not there.

Life is short. Why would we attempt to live any way other than with the joyful happiness of God’s pleasure in our life?

