Revelation 3:20

Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

Jesus said I’m standing at the door and knocking, if any man hear my voice and open that door. So He knocks on our door with His voice. That means then that one of the big doors into our own being is our ears. 

The Lord’s voice comes to us in many ways. We often feel like God doesn’t talk to us but in reality His voice comes to us in many ways. In today’s connected online world we are just too busy to hear it. It comes in written form through the Bible and it comes in verbal form through many different aspects of God’s creation.

There was a man named Balaam once upon a time in Numbers the twenty second chapter who had a donkey talk to him. Then the crowing of a rooster in the New Testament spoke clearly to Peter. A chicken spends all day walking around looking and pecking at the ground, hoping to find a bug to eat. Then at the darkest part of the night, just as the sun is starting to rise,, the rooster starts crowing.

We all have encountered those human beings that spend all their time pecking at us. Then when they think they have found something to feed on, they start crowing like a rooster. That is a sure sign that it is time for the sun to start rising. 

The issue is, we slam the door shut, lock the deadbolt and set the alarm. Is it the voice of God knocking on the door of the secret room in my heart that nobody is allowed in? Why does God want in there? Does He want to feed on all those negative things and mistakes I’ve hidden in there for so many years?

No, of course not. He wants to clean that place out so He can fill it with His love and healing. He said open the door and I will come in and sup with you and then you with me. 

Go back and set God a table of praise and thanksgiving in the middle of all the ugly and painful times in your past and He will fill those places with His love and healing. As He said in Psalm 23, thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies. Likewise i should prepare Him a table of praise and thanksgiving in the midst of His enemies and in the midst of the secret room of my heart where He is knocking on the door with His voice.

Open the door today and experience God’s love and healing.

