2 Corinthians 5:17-18
Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. And all things are of God, who hath reconciled us to himself by Jesus Christ, and hath given to us the ministry of reconciliation;

If old things are passed away, then what are the old things. The old things that are passed away is everything in our life that has come and gone. If it isn’t there anymore it is passed away. Simple enough it seems but the issue is in us letting go of that. When we seem stuck in a rut and can’t move forward it often is because we haven’t let go of the past. An unreconciled past is an anchor that holds us where we are.

The Apostle Paul said we have been given the ministry of reconciliation. While that certainly applies to my initial experience with Christ and while it applies to me leading others to Christ, it also applies to me being reconciled to what Christ is doing in my life on a daily basis. I am chained to the past and unable to move forward in God’s plan for my future because I haven’t reconciled, in Christ, what happened in the past.

It’s not that the thing in your past never happened, it’s just that we learn to place that “in” Christ and allow Him to be over that thing. Christ is bigger than anything that has ever happened to me and is therefore over that thing and bigger than that thing. I can’t fix it or change it so it is His to deal with as He sees fit.

You see we are in Christ and are new creatures. The old things are passed away. The rejection, shame, mistakes, hurt and wrong of the past happened but it is passed away. That is not who I am now. I am not defined by, chained to or controlled by the past because I am in Christ and those things are passed away.

So every time those feelings of despair, despondency and depression start rising and coming to the surface, do as Peter did when he found himself on a stormy sea once upon a time. Jump out of that boat of “woe is me” and walk on top of the past right into the arms of Jesus. As soon as Peter’s hand touched Jesus’ hand they were immediately in the boat and the sea was perfectly calm.

It seems a hard thing to do but it is doable because we have been given the ministry of reconciliation. Reconciliation for ourselves first of all. Immediately upon being reconciled with Jesus in the midst of the storm, Peter and everyone in the boat were able to start moving forward again.

