1 Corinthians 12:31
But covet earnestly the best gifts: and yet shew I unto you a more excellent way.

The Apostle Paul tells the Church at Corinth to covet or desire the best gifts. Then he says, “and yet shew I unto you a more excellent way.” In other words, desire the best gifts because they will help you but don’t forget about the more excellent way.

What then is the more excellent way? The more excellent way is walking with God in a relationship of love and trust. All the gifts God can give us are great but if He never saw fit to give us any gifts, so long as we had this relationship of love and trust between us, we can do nothing but succeed.

I don’t have to see how anything is going to work out or get fixed if I’m enveloped by a relationship of love and trust in God.

1 John 4:18 says, “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.” I do not have to live in fear and anxiety! When fear and anxiety surface in my life it is the first sign that the Lord is desiring a more perfect love relationship with me. God is love and so when He allows something to expose my fear and anxiety it is because He wants to clean that part of my life out and fill it with His love.

I can live victoriously! I do not have to live defeated and fretting all the time. When I’m walking in the way of love with a God of love and experiencing this relationship of love it doesn’t matter how things work out so long as I don’t lose this relationship.

When we live this way, good things start happening in our lives. Yes there will be opposition and new levels of fear and anxiety exposed, but God’s Word promises that the steps of a good man are ordered. The path to take somehow just begins to become clear and somehow we manage to end up doing the right things at the right time in the right places.

Dear Lord, please show us a more excellent way!

