Psalm 91:5, 14
Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day; Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name.

In the uncertainty of today’s world you can find yourself worrying and fretting about many things. It seems before you are even aware of what you are thinking, your mind and emotions are way down the road of defeat. We worry about whether we will have a job or not, whether the church likes us or not, whether our children are going to be successful or not and whether our spouse is going to leave us or not.

We can rise above all the anxiety and stress of life if we only do one thing and that is to set our love upon God. The Bible promises we will not be afraid, He will deliver us and He will set us on high. That’s a three for one return on our investment. All I have to do is set my love upon Him and in return I will not be afraid, He will deliver me and set me on high.

Then how do I set my love upon Him? To set means to be joined together, adhere to, cleave to. So when I feel anxiety, worry or fear begin to rise inside of me, it is a sign that I need to consciously chose God’s love all over again, regardless of the way anything is looking around me. When our children are in trouble it never enters their mind that we might betray them and not protect them. They just immediately run to us when they are hurt. It’s not until they think they are grown that we begin to experience them feeling like they can handle things without us and really don’t want our opinion.

How do we feel when even our grown children get in trouble and didn’t ask for our insight before making decisions? God the Father is a much better parent than we could ever be. All He is asking us to do is set our love upon Him.

It’s easy to talk about how much we love Him and how blessed we are when everything is good. It’s often an entirely different story when things aren’t so pleasant. All He is asking is for us to choose Him and consciously place our love and trust in Him when things aren’t going our way.

The payoff is a threefold return. My love on Him and deliverance, no fear and being set on high for me.

