Tags

Psalm 60:4
Thou hast given a banner to them that fear thee, that it may be displayed because of the truth. Selah.

The word banner in Psalm 60:4 means a banner set on a high mountain, especially in case of an invasion, when it showed the people where to assemble. The bible says in Isaiah 5:26, And he will lift up an “ensign” to the nations from far, and will hiss unto them from the end of the earth: and, behold, they shall come with speed swiftly:

In Numbers 21:9 when there were serpents in the camp biting the children of Israel, God had Moses make a serpent of brass and lift it up on a pole. Anytime someone was bitten, if they would look at the serpent of brass lifted up on the pole, they would live. The idea is the same as in Psalm 60:4.

Jesus Christ is the banner we need to lift up on high. He was lifted up on a cross at Calvary and died for me. When I came and looked up at His death on Calvary I was saved from death.

We live in a world full of hurting people who have been bitten by some kind of serpent. A serpent of abuse by someone in power over them, a serpent of addiction and dependency, a serpent of infidelity or a broken home, the serpent of homelessness and the list goes on and on.

As God’s people we need to lift up the banner God has given us for all the bitten and hurting people around us to see. The same banner of God’s love, that saved us from the insanity of this world and life without Jesus Christ. God’s love was the answer to my messed up life and it is the answer to the messed up human lives around me. The Lord didn’t give up on me but had the love of God displayed before me in some form or fashion so that I could see it. Although it may seem that some person or situation is hopeless, it isn’t hopeless if I only display the love of God that has been showered on me in the middle of that situation.

It is not my job to change anyone. It is only my job to display the banner of God’s love in my life so that all who come across my path will know where to assemble.

