Tags

, , ,

Proverbs 24:10
If thou faint in the day of adversity, thy strength is small.

To faint means to let go, to be disheartened.

Adversity is going to come to us in this life. We all go through seasons of adversity. This life is not about being perfect. This life is about being an example on an imperfect human being that fights through adversity and becomes a better and more loving example of Christ and walking in His ways. No one is perfect and no one gets to avoid adversity in life.

Adversity doesn’t mean that I’ve been cursed by God because I’m a bad person. Adversity is a workout or exercise session so that I can strengthen my grip on the Lord’s hand. Peter found the limits of his strength as he walked on the water towards Jesus and when he grabbed on to Jesus’ outstretched hand he was strengthened and overcame the adversity that was threatening to drown him.

If thou faint in the day of adversity, thy strength is small. So then if my strength is small and I find myself fainting at times, how do I get more strength?

Nehemiah 8:10 says, in part, “for the joy of the LORD is your strength.”

When we find ourselves in adversity we are so quick to become disheartened and faint. We feel like if we do a good job of being a good little child of God that He should reward us and take all the adversity out of our life. In reality we are called to display the wondrous and infinite love of God in the midst of adversity to whomever the Lord should put across our path.

Jesus was the ultimate example of this when hanging from the cross. He said, “Father forgive them for they know not what they do.” Now I can normally find it in my heart to forgive those who harm me. However it has, at times, taken years for me to be able to do that. Forgive them in the middle of them crucifying me, as it were, I need some more strength!

The joy of the Lord is my strength. When it seems the waves will surely drown me, all I have to do is look above the waves to Jesus and take His hand and the strength will be there for me to be able to display God’s love in the midst of adversity.

