Tags

, ,

Joshua 1:9
Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.

As the children of Israel prepare to enter the promised land the LORD tells Joshua, “the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.” What an awesome promise. Don’t we all wonder sometimes whether the LORD is with us or not? Don’t we wonder which way to go and whether or not we made the right choice?

When trials and tribulations come our way and when the road gets rough and bumpy we often struggle to change course and find a super highway to get on instead of the gravel country road I seem to be traveling down. Then the fear and dismay set in and pretty soon we are spiraling downward in defeat and despondency. The LORD told Joshua don’t be afraid or dismayed, I am with you where ever you go. How could Joshua ever be defeated if God went with him everywhere he went?

How do I reach that level of confidence and trust in the LORD believing that He is with wherever I go?

The Bible says in Isaiah 22:21, that He will strengthen him with thy girdle. It is the same word used when the LORD told Joshua to be strong. He was telling Joshua to put on a girdle to strengthen and protect his loins. Then in Ephesians 6:14 we are commanded to stand having our loins girt about with truth. Again that is the same thing He was telling Joshua to do. Be strong or in other words wrap the truth around yourself and move on because I am going to be there with you.

Don’t be afraid or dismayed. Wrap yourself in the truth and move on down the road of life God has allowed you to be on today. When we have our self wrapped in the truth, we will give birth to the will of God in our life, regardless of what kind of road I seem to be on today.

Instead of fighting the road we need to learn to wrap ourselves in the truth. When I am wrapped in the truth the road can not prevent the will of God and His love and blessings from flowing in my life.

What is truth I am to wrap myself in? The truth is that I am a child of the Most High God and He loves me. The truth is that He is the head over all things and this road is for His glory and my good. The truth is that I am wrapped in His truth and love and His blessings and goodness are with me where ever I go!

