Tags

, , ,

Song of Solomon 3:4
It was but a little that I passed from them, but I found him whom my soul loveth: I held him, and would not let him go, until I had brought him into my mother’s house, and into the chamber of her that conceived me.

The espoused bride had sought Him whom her soul loveth at night upon her bed but found Him not. She sought her bridegroom upon a bed of ease but found Him not.

Since that did not work, she got up and looked for Him whom her soul loveth, through works, by looking all through the city streets. That also did not work and she didn’t find Him.

In the course of wandering through the streets and trying to develop a relationship with the Lord through works she attracted the attention of the watchmen of the city. Most certainly that is the way it is. When you decide it is time to get up off of the bed of ease and do something for Jesus, you will attract the attention of the watchmen. The church will notice you and perhaps give you recognition, prestige and position but that is not a personal relationship with the one whom your soul loveth. That is a relationship with the church.

The espoused bride testified that it was only a little after she had passed from the watchmen of the city that she found Him whom her soul loveth. When we reach the place where work in the church just isn’t satisfying that longing in our soul for the love and presence of God Almighty in our life, it is time to pass from the watchmen of the city.

Yes we are to go to church and participate in the mission of the church and do good works for Jesus. Most importantly, however, is to find Him whom my soul loveth. How do I pass from the watchman of the city then? I pass from the watchmen of the city, into a personal love relationship with Him whom my soul loveth, by spending time in prayer and in studying His word in my own secret place.

Yes God uses His servants to watch over us but that does not relieve me of the responsibility to develop my own relationship with the Lord. In Psalm 23:2 the Bible says, “He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.” He maketh me and He leadeth me. Are we close enough to the Lord today that He can make us and that He can lead us? Do we spend enough time talking to Him in prayer and reading His word that we recognize His voice when He is trying to lead us and make us?

