Tags

, , , ,

Psalm 27:4
One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple.

The word translated as beauty in this verse from the original means delightfulness or pleasantness.

I wonder how often we see the beauty of the LORD. The Psalmist said there is one thing I desired of the LORD, and that’s what I’m seeking after. That one thing is to dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life so that I may behold the beauty of the LORD.

This verse is not talking about just a natural church building sitting somewhere. There was a temple sitting in a particular place where everyone went to worship but scripture also teaches us that as Israel traveled from Egypt to the Promised Land that they had a Tabernacle with them that they set up every time they stopped. So where ever they stopped, worship and sacrifice was immediately established.

That teaches me that where ever the LORD leads me to, my first order of business in that place is to offer sacrifice and worship right there. Psalm 107:22, And let them sacrifice the sacrifices of thanksgiving, and declare his works with rejoicing.

Noah had no idea where he was, what things would look like or how he was going to survive after riding out the biggest storm to ever be on this earth. Yet when he came off the ark in a place he had never been before, the first thing he did was build an altar and sacrifice to God. It was God who was in control of that ark all the way from the time Noah and his family entered the ark until the day they came off the ark.

David was saying, in so many words, Saul has chased me all over this land but I’m going to build a house of thanksgiving and in that I will see the beauty of the LORD.

We don’t see the LORD’s beauty because we haven’t built Him an house of thanksgiving, yet, in the place where the storm has carried our ark. How can we see beauty if our eyes are scaled over with bitterness, unforgiveness, anger or contempt? If we assume an attitude of gratitude and build the LORD an house of thanksgiving where ever He allows the storms of life to carry us, life will become a thing of beauty instead of something to suffer through and endure. Behold the beauty of the LORD!

