Tags

, , ,

Proverbs 8:17
I love them that love me; and those that seek me early shall find me.

God is love and He loved us before we were ever created. Before He ever began His creative works He had already prepared for and made a way for our redemption, called His only begotten Son. John 3:16, For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. As the song goes, “Oh how I love Jesus, because He first loved me.”

To love means, bottom line, to give and to bring near. That’s what the Father did with His Son. He gave us His only begotten Son and through that gift, brought us near Himself. One reason the Father did that was to teach us how to do the same thing in the midst of our situations and circumstances of life. The Father loved us early. Now it’s our turn to love Him early.

If I seek the LORD early in a situation, I shall find Him. I think, as human beings, it sometimes takes a while before we start looking for God in a situation. We can go through the whole spectrum of human emotions before we reach the place to where we discover the only real answer to a problem is to put our trust and confidence in the LORD.

The LORD promised that if we would seek Him early we would find Him. So as quick as I realize something is going on I should start seeking God in the middle of that thing. To seek God is to long after Him. I don’t have to wait until I understand to start longing after God. I don’t have to wait on someone else to understand to start longing for God. I don’t have to wait for someone else to change and I don’t have to wait for a change in me to start longing after God.

The key is to seek Him early. Long for Him early and you will discover His love and find Him in the situation you are in. The LORD promised we would find Him and discover His love if we would only long after Him early.

