Tags

, ,

1 Peter 3:12-13
For the eyes of the Lord are over the righteous, and his ears are open unto their prayers: but the face of the Lord is against them that do evil. And who is he that will harm you, if ye be followers of that which is good?

To be a follower of that which is good, in the original tongue, means to be an imitator of that which is good. Now imitating can certainly be a bad thing, but it is most definitely a good thing, if you have the proper role model in front of you. It is no wonder the world is in the condition it is today with the role models our children see in the home. One must wonder how many children see role models of commitment, trust, affirmation and working for the benefit of the whole, versus role models of selfishness, anger, bitterness, discouragement and pleasing self.

Being at home doesn’t give me the right to blow off steam and do whatever I want. I have more of a responsibility to be a proper role model, for those I been given the privilege of molding their character, than those I have contact with outside the home. Then we wonder why children don’t seem to be able to develop and maintain happy relationships and become responsible, productive citizens in society at large.

If we want the Lord to watch over us all we must do is simply be followers of that which is good. Have we lost the art of treating others as we would have them treat us. I think the “Golden Rule” maybe has been twisted into meaning that whoever has the gold makes the rules. The easiest way to figure out how to treat others is to just reverse the roles. How would you want to be treated if you were in the same situation? I would want o be treated with love, mercy, compassion and understanding no matter what condition I was in and no matter how I got there.

Verse 13 says, “And who is he that will harm you, if ye be followers of that which is good?” If I am following after that which is good and the Lord’s eyes are over me, with His ears open to my prayers, I will come out the winner and enriched in every situation I go through.

