Tags

, , , , ,

Job 13:27
Thou puttest my feet also in the stocks, and lookest narrowly unto all my paths; thou settest a print upon the heels of my feet.

It is frustrating, to say the lest, when we find ourselves in situations of life and, try as we might, we can’t seem to progress out of the place we are caught in.

Job found himself in those very circumstances when, after doing so much good, the LORD saw fit to allow Job to be stripped of everything. The murmuring and complaining begin to flow up out of Job. Job could not understand how such disasters could occur in his life when he had devoted himself to serving God and had given so much to the LORD.

Job pointed the finger straight at God with an accusing attitude and said, “Thou puttest my feet also in the stocks…” We can scorn Job for having a bad attitude with God but isn’t that the way we are when God leads us to do something and our thoughts are, “What’s the use? That person will never get it right.”

The disciples were told by Jesus one time to cross to the other side of the sea. In obedience to the command of the Master the disciples were rowing as hard as the could to accomplish the will of God. And yet the Bible says that the wind was contrary to them. Why would God tell me to do something and then allow the opposition to come against me like that? Why would God tell me to walk a certain path and then put my feet in stocks so that I couldn’t do so?

In Acts the sixteenth chapter Paul and Silas found themselves in just such circumstances after casting a spirit of divination out of a woman. That act cost her masters their profit and gain. Paul and Silas were beaten and then cast into the inner prison where they were bound in stocks and chains.

That would most certainly have knocked the wind out of most of us. Most assuredly I would not be anxious to travel down that road again if it was going to cause such pain in my life.

The reaction from Paul and Silas was completely different. The Bible says that at midnight they prayed and sang praises to God. They begin to praise God with an attitude of gratitude instead of displaying an accusing spirit. Their gratitude for the hand of God in their life, even though they were in stocks and bonds resulted in an earthquake that set everyone in the prison free.

My deliverance and the deliverance of those around me depends upon me displaying an attitude of gratitude and singing praises to God in the midnight hour and not upon everyone listening to my great wisdom. To God be all the glory!

