Tags

, , , ,

Job 19:21
Have pity upon me, have pity upon me, O ye my friends; for the hand of God hath touched me.

At this point in Job’s story, he is deep into his trial and is discovering his self-pity. Job was a mighty man of God and had become used to people coming to him for wisdom and counsel. Job could see clearly the answer for other’s issues. The thing that Job lacked and that God designed all of Job’s trials for, were to add to his life, the ability to look inward.

Job was so accustomed to being right about what others should be doing that he was in danger of losing sight of God’s mercy in his own life. This leads to an unmerciful attitude towards others. Even when we’ve ended up in bad circumstances because of our own wrong choices and mistakes, we want to be treated with mercy and compassion. Yet when we see what, we think, someone else needs to be doing to get their life right, we expect them to jump on it right now or there’s no reason to fool with them anymore. Thank God He is still fooling with me.

When I remember the mercy God has had on me in my ignorance, I am able to have mercy on others. God was in the process of teaching Job the mercy of God. When Job found himself stripped down and in hard circumstances he turned to his friends for comfort and mercy. They had none for him. Why didn’t he go to God? Instead of turning to God he went to his friends. Have pity on me, he said to his friends, for the hand of God hath touched me.

Job was feeling sorry for himself at this point and so was talking to those around him, instead of to God, whom Job understood very well was the one who was disrupting his life and stripping him down. God’s purpose and motive was pure, of course, and that was to teach Job the mercy of God so that he could share that with others.

When we go through hard and painful times in life it will either cause us to become hard and bitter or we can allow it to cause us to become compassionate and merciful towards others when they are suffering. Even when someone is suffering because of their bad choices, they still deserve compassion, pity and mercy. That’s what the LORD did for me. Romans 5:8, But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Before I ever realized I had a problem, God had already made a way out for me. Dear Father in heaven above, help me to have that same kind of mercy and love.

