Tags

, ,

Ephesians 6:13-14
Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness;

…and having done all, to stand. What a powerful thought. When I’ve done all I know to do all God wants from me is to just stand. I don’t have to have all the answers, I don’t have to be perfect and I don’t have to understand. All I have to do is stand. My part is to stand. Everything else is God’s business.

Jesus left that example for us at Calvary. In the middle of being executed as a criminal with criminals on all sides of him and a crowd mocking Him, He stood His ground. He never complained, He never asked the Father to shorten or relieve His suffering. He just stood His ground and remained exactly where the Father had allowed Him to be until death came. He never forsook His post of duty.

What a hero! A hero is someone who doesn’t forsake their post of duty when the enemy comes in but rather fights to the death, if necessary, to defend their assigned post. That is what Jesus did for us.

While it may not be painless or necessarily easy to stand at times, it is simple. Simple is not always easy but it is doable. We are told how to stand in the evil day when we’ve done all we know to do. When we’ve reached the end of ourselves and are worn out with the daily battle of doing what’s right in the midst of chaos on all sides all we have to do is wrap ourselves with a girdle of truth.

There is strength, life and victory in the truth. I will have the strength and life necessary to stand in whatever circumstances God has allowed in my life when I wrap myself in the truth. And the truth is that Jesus Christ is the head over all things, He loves me and died for me. If God be for us, who can be against us! We are more than conquerors!

There is a price to pay when I embrace the truth but we can rest assured that we shall never fail when we are standing on solid ground called Jesus Christ, the Son of God.

