Tags

, , ,

Romans 8:38-39
For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

The Bible mentions ten specific things here that are unable to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. What hope! Jesus came to earth and died on a cross at Calvary to deliver us from the penalty of sin which is death and hell. The depth of the love of God was displayed in the fact that God Almighty sent His only begotten Son to die for me. What can overcome that? What could possibly separate me from that kind of love?

Ten is the number of the law as the LORD gave Moses ten commandments. So it doesn’t matter which commandment or commandments I am guilty of breaking, that can not separate me from the love of God. There is no broken life, mistake or problem that God’s love can not reach through. God doesn’t love the sin but sin can not stop the love of God from reaching the sinner.

That doesn’t give me a license to go sin and do whatever I want. But it does mean that when I make a mistake or wrong choice, God’s love is still right there waiting on me. My sin doesn’t change God. He is who He is, namely love. As it clearly says in 1 John 4:8, God is love.

So it doesn’t matter what trap in life we have fallen into, God’s love is there for us. As humans we are so given to focusing on the wrong that we often miss the right. It’s not about what’s wrong with me, it’s about God’s love in my life. It’s not about what I’ve done, it’s about who He is. And it’s certainly not about who I am but it’s entirely about what He’s done.

I am persuaded there is nothing that can separate me from the love of God. Not even the places in me that are not yet like Jesus. If God be for us, who can be against us?!

