Tags

, , , , , ,

Luke 6:45
A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is evil: for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.

What is really in our heart? I think as we busy ourselves with the cares of life it is easy to slide into a state of being where we lose focus on what is going on in our own heart. We can become so wrapped up in career, family, home and responsibilities that we neglect to stop and listen to our own heart.

The scripture said plainly, “for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.” If you really want to what is ruling in your own heart, stop and listen to the thoughts of your heart. When we pass some poor defeated soul on the street corner, do we wonder why they don’t just go get a job instead of bothering everyone that goes by? When we are by ourselves in the car, what are we thinking about and what is our mind feeding on?

We know who is on the throne of our heart by what is coming out of our mouth. We sometimes make a tacky remark to someone and then cover it up by laughing a little and saying, just joking or not really, I’m just playing. Yet the sword of our tongue has wounded the heart of someone who is already down and struggling. Am I ruling on the throne of my heart or have I allowed Jesus Christ His rightful place on the throne of my heart?

We condemn someone if they don’t show up at church and yet we set in church thinking about how everyone should be managing their lives. Who is the king of my heart? Just because I’ve accepted Jesus Christ as my savior doesn’t mean that I’ve given Him complete rule and reign over all of my heart yet.

That is why the Bible says in John 3:30, “He must increase, but I must decrease.” Yes we should do the Christian things to include finding our God appointed place in the Body of Christ. However, community worship and listening to the Bible being taught doesn’t relieve me of the grave responsibility of listening to what is coming out of my own heart for “of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.”

