Tags

,

Psalm 63:7-8
Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice. My soul followeth hard after thee: thy right hand upholdeth me.

This Psalm was written when David was hiding from Saul in the wilderness of Judah. After running for his life, David goes directly to the source of his help and acknowledges it. “Thou hast been my help.” David could have started talking about all of his own righteousness because he had chosen to flee when it was already a well known fact that he had been anointed king by the prophet Samuel. Instead of proclaiming his own innocence, David gives all the glory to God. “Thou hast been my help.”

Once David makes it clear to Himself and to everyone around him that God is his help, it is a simple thing to start making the right choices. Therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice. I don’t have to go around extolling my greatness to everyone, I’m happy in the shadow of the wings of God Almighty. There is great rejoicing in the shadow of the wings of God, why would I want to be any place else.

David was so overwhelmed by the rejoicing he discovered in the shadow of the wings of the LORD that he immediately states, “My soul followeth hard after thee:” I don’t have any idea where I am going to end up but this I know, in the shadow of your wings is where I belong and so my soul is following hard after thee.

The word followeth is translated from a Hebrew word which means to cling, cleave to, to stay with, to be joined together. It is the same word used in Ruth 1:14, And they lifted up their voice, and wept again: and Orpah kissed her mother in law; but Ruth clave unto her. Orpah kissed her mother in law and left her but Ruth had discovered the rejoicing that was in her mother in law’s presence and clave to her. Ruth said I’m cleaving to Naomi and following hard after her all the way back to the promised land.

When we understand that God is our help, it is easy then to make the choice to cleave to Him and follow Him all the way to the promised land. And we will discover the great rejoicing that is under His wings as we travel through this life.

