Tags

, , , , , ,

Matthew 6:9-13
After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen.

When the Lord taught His disciples to pray, He was very specific about the order they were to pray in. It was not just happenstance or accident that they were given this particular order. It was deliberate and intentional.

First they were taught to acknowledge the Father. Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. He’s our Father and He’s in heaven. He’s my Father and He’s your Father. He’s my Father and He’s the Father of that person I don’t care so much for at work or at church. He’s our Father and He’s in heaven on His throne and I’m His subject down here on earth.

Then we are to acknowledge His name and His kingdom. Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. It’s not about my name and my kingdom. It’s about His name and His kingdom.

Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. Thy will be done in my earth just like your will is done in heaven. Establish your kingdom in my heart. It is one thing for me to accept Jesus as my Savior and Redeemer and an entirely different matter for His kingdom to be established in my earth and for Him to assume the throne of that kingdom.

Then He says, “Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.” The purpose of us being given daily bread is so that we can forgive others. We are not given daily bread so that we have the strength to build up our own name and our own kingdom. The first purpose for us being given daily bread is so that we will have the strength to forgive others.

So we can forgive others! The Lord gives us the daily bread, the strength, we need in order to be able to do so. The Lord’s kingdom is a kingdom of forgiveness. I achieve citizenship and the right to be in that kingdom by forgiveness. Likewise I am to build the Lord’s kingdom and not my own by practicing that same forgiveness and sharing it with others.

When we are loving and forgiving, others will want to belong to the same kingdom we do. We can forgive. “Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.”

