Tags

, , , , , ,

Psalm 27:4
One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple.

The Psalmist desired one thing and set his heart to seek after it. His desire was to dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of his life. He wanted to do this for two reasons, that he might behold the beauty of the LORD and to enquire in His temple.

The Psalmist wanted to behold the beauty of the LORD. The Psalmist wanted to get a vision of the beauty of the LORD. The LORD is a propitious, kind, merciful and loving God and when we come into in His presence we will find hope, strength and faith to continue on the path the LORD has set before us. When we get a vision of the beauty of the LORD we are filled with such hope that we are well able to press on through any adversity to the place we have been called to.

Proverbs 29:18 says, “Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he.” When we don’t see the LORD’s beauty, we are vulnerable to every attack of the enemy. However, when I enter His presence and get a new vision of His beauty, I am more than a conqueror.

Oh how beautiful is our God! Oh how kind, pleasant and delightful He is! The darker the valley I walk through, the greater His beauty becomes in my eyes. All His works are beautiful. It sometimes takes a while for me to see that, but when I seek after His presence, I understand His beauty in a new and deeper way.

When I look back on my life I see that the beauty of the LORD has been present in my life, every step of the way. He has brought me through every trial and valley and His hope, kindness and beauty fill my life today. There will most assuredly be new battles and new valleys to cross tomorrow, but with confidence I can say His beautiful countenance will be with me every step of the way. He is the same yesterday, today and forever.

Oh behold the beauty of the LORD!

