Tags

, , , , , ,

Proverbs 6:20, 23
My son, keep thy father’s commandment, and forsake not the law of thy mother: For the commandment is a lamp; and the law is light; and reproofs of instruction are the way of life:

Commandments are the oral, spoken words that come from the Father. The law is the written word. The Bible says that the commandments, the spoken words of the Father are a lamp and the law, the written words, are the light that comes out of that lamp. When I allow the Spirit of God to come into my heart and bring life to the Word of God, I never have to walk in darkness. On the contrary, I can walk in faith and confidence, with full assurance that I am walking in God’s love.

That is why the Psalmist could say in Psalm 23:4-5, “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.” His cup was running over in the middle of the valley of the shadow of death. It was running over with the joy and the love of God in his life.

The Bible may have been written many years ago, but it ever lives with new light and life for today. David wrote, “thy word have I hid in my heart that I might not sin against thee.” As we spend quality time alone with the Lord, in the secret place, meditating on God’s Word and communing with Him, the Spirit of God will come upon God’s Word and bring it to life and shed the necessary light upon my path that I might walk in God’s ways in my daily life.

Regardless of today’s circumstances and the condition of the world, I can walk in light, with the love of God swaddling me as a mother would swaddle a new born. To God be all the glory!

