Tags

, , ,

1 Samuel 16:7
But the LORD said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the LORD seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the LORD looketh on the heart.

I can say nothing but “I am guilty”. It has become abundantly clear to me, that the LORD looks at things differently than I do. We spend our life passing judgment on this and passing judgment on that, based on our experiences in life. When in reality God does not see the situation that way. No wonder He said in Romans 8:28 that all things work together for good.

The issue is, that as Christians, we are convinced that we are morally correct and that gives us the right to stand and judge everything else around us based on the way we see that things should be. Yes it is morally right to be a Christian but that doesn’t give me the right to push Jesus Christ off the throne and climb up on the judgment seat, as it were.

We don’t see as the LORD sees. Jesus died for the whole world. He hates the sin but loves every sinner. Just because someone doesn’t act, look, think, speak or dress like I think they should, doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t bother sharing the love of God with them. Even if I am convinced that I am the morally correct one in the situation.

Jonah had that problem in the Bible when the LORD told him to go preach to Nineveh. The people in Nineveh didn’t see just exactly like the Commonwealth of Israel and thus Jonah wanted nothing to do with them. Even after having a revival that moved and touched the whole city, Jonah was angry because of his morally just position, in his eyes.

May the LORD have mercy on us and help us to see as He does.

