Tags

, , , ,

2 Corinthians 12:9
And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

As the great Apostle Paul suffered through afflictions and persecutions, he begin to call out to God for deliverance. It was at one of Paul’s lowest points that the LORD spoke to Paul and said, “My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.”

We don’t always receive the answer we are looking for from the LORD. Paul was looking for deliverance and instead he received the news that he was to be a vessel to display God’s strength being made perfect in weakness. I can just imagine the Apostle being something less than excited about his answer.

Nevertheless Paul says, “Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” So Paul says, in so many words, I see the LORD isn’t going to deliver me from it but if I learn to glory in my infirmities, I know the power of Christ is going to rest upon me.

Suffering with some infirmities in life is a small price to pay in order to have the power of Christ resting upon me. I don’t have to be strong with no issues in life in order to have the presence and power of God in my life. Rather it is me learning to glory in my infirmities that makes me a qualified vessel to display the power of Christ.

His grace is sufficient. It’s not all my great talents and works that count. It’s the ability to be able to display the grace of God to others as I suffer through my own infirmities. We all are in-firm at times and in different areas of our life. What hope it must bring to the lost and hopeless when we are able to share the grace of God with someone and proclaim that His grace is sufficient for me right where I am with all my faults, failures, mistakes and infirmities.

In Exodus 36:7, Israel had just come out of four hundred years of bondage when they were commanded to build a Tabernacle. And the Bible says, “For the stuff they had was sufficient for all the work to make it, and too much.” They had sufficient and much more to accomplish the will of God. We also have sufficient to accomplish the will of God in our lives. It’s not about how strong I am or what a great leader I am. It’s about learning to glory in my infirmities that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

His grace is sufficient!

