Tags

, , ,

Isaiah 45:5-7
I am the LORD, and there is none else, there is no God beside me: I girded thee, though thou hast not known me: That they may know from the rising of the sun, and from the west, that there is none beside me. I am the LORD, and there is none else. I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the LORD do all these things.

The LORD girded us for what we would face in life before we ever even knew Him. To be girded means to encompass, equip, clothe. It means to be strong and robust. The word is also used in 2 Samuel 22:40, “For thou hast girded me with strength to battle: them that rose up against me hast thou subdued under me.”

He is the all knowing God and how unjust it would be for Him to send me to earth without the necessary goods to succeed at what He has sent me to do. It would be like hiring an employee to do a certain job and then not giving them the necessary tools to do that job. Even the world knows that is not right. God has equipped us. He girded us with the necessary tools before we ever even knew Him so that we might successfully accomplish His will.

It can sometimes feel like the LORD has allowed us to find ourselves in situations and circumstances of life that are going to swallow us up but praise be to God Almighty we have been equipped. We have been girded. We have the necessary goods and intestinal fortitude to make it through. We won’t find it in some human being or on the shelf at the store, but when we get in the secret place with our Creator and Owner, we discover the necessary substance down in the bottom of our being.

The Bible said that David encouraged himself in the LORD. He could do that because he had discovered that he had been girded with the necessary tools for success from before he even knew the LORD. Likewise, let us be encouraged. We have been girded, we have been equipped by God Almighty Himself for success. And if God be for us, who can be against us?!

