Tags

, ,

John 3:30
He must increase, but I must decrease.

John said, “He must increase, but I must decrease.” The first thing John was concerned about was the presence of the LORD increasing in his heart and in his life. The second thing John was concerned about was decreasing in his own fleshly and carnal nature that is unlike Jesus.

Oh how often we get that backwards and the order of importance reversed in our life. We feel like if we become a better person and get it right that the LORD will give us the desires of our heart. Likewise, it seems, it is often so much easier and almost an automatic thing with us to focus on the negative and wrong and lose sight of the positive and right. John said that the first thing is for the LORD to increase in my life and then I can deal with the wrong in me that needs to decrease.

If I concentrate on the good and spiritually healthy things of the LORD I will have the necessary tools and weapons to then deal with the wrong. Why are we as human beings so given to focusing on the negative? If we spent as much time working on the positive things we can do, as we do handling and looking at the negative things still in our life, we would be much farther along in our journey.

He must increase, but I must decrease! Blessed Father in heaven above, help me to learn to focus on increasing your presence in my heart and in my life so that you then can repair and heal what is wrong in me!

