Tags

, , , ,

Proverbs 18:13
He that answereth a matter before he heareth it, it is folly and shame unto him.

It’s amazing to me how quick we human beings are to judge. It is such an integral part of our being that we don’t even have to think about doing it, but rather it’s quite the opposite. It seems to be such a part of us that we do it automatically without having to think about it. The Bible is quite clear, listen first.

It is one thing to hear and an entirely different matter to listen. We hear the sound of words being spoken but we must practice hearing what is being said. How can I hear you if I’m busy thinking about what I’m going to say to you?

We spend our lives judging others and ourselves by the words others are saying. It is not fair that I allow my first impression of another person be based on someone else’s opinion. Likewise it is not fair that someone’s first impression of me be based on something that they heard.

Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. If we answer a matter before we hear it, it is folly and shame to us. Don’t judge someone based on other’s opinion of them. Matthew 7:1, “Judge not, that ye be not judged.” That’s short, sweet, simple and clear. Listen to your own inner voice before you answer.

Make it an intentional thing in your life not to judge through other’s eyes. Determine within your own self not to allow other’s opinions to dictate how you live your life. Listen first to your own inner voice before making decisions and forming opinions. That will keep you in hot water, as it were, with most groups and churches, as they are sure that their opinion is the only right one.

Life is too short for me to live it through others eyes. The bottom line is that when I stand before the one true and only righteous judge, my Creator, I will stand there by myself and be judged on my own decisions. Others opinions will not count in that day.

