Tags

, , , , , , ,

Exodus 20:3
Thou shalt have no other gods before me.

In today’s multitasking and connected world, who am I worshiping? I may not ever bring another god into my home and set them up on a throne and perform religious rituals to them. However, am I putting my smart phone, laptop or television before God Almighty? That is a personal question that only I can answer for myself and that you must answer for yourself. The church can’t answer that for you and a preacher can’t decide that for you. Only God Almighty can show me the idolatry in my life.

I may not have an idol set up in my home but I can certainly be serving the idol of money. I can be trying to satisfy the idol of relationships, chasing one relationship after another until I’m exhausted, frustrated and wore out. I may not be bowing down to some idol image on the outside but what is controlling my thoughts, feelings and actions on the inside?

Thou shalt have no other gods before me. You can work yourself to death to live up to a creed that someone or some person or group has set up and it is all wasted energy if it is done in service to some other god. There certainly is nothing wrong with trying to live a life of service to others, that we can help. However when that service comes from a desire to be the redeemer and great one, instead of from my relationship with and service to Almighty God, I have just become an idolater.

Ephesians 6:6-7, Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart; With good will doing service, as to the Lord, and not to men:

Not with eyeservice but with goodwill. It can look right on the outside and yet we are doing those things because we want to please some man, we are trying to live up to some set of rules or because we want to be accepted by some group. That is called performing service to some idol instead of serving God Almighty. The proof is that when someone rejects my way of life there is anything but a feeling of goodwill in my being.

One indicator that I’m serving an idolatrous image is when the elitist attitude begins to surface. If they don’t see it our way, then that’s their loss, is sometimes the attitude of God’s people. The best I remember, Jesus went into the home of publicans and sinners to eat and fellowship with them. He certainly had His solitary time with the Father but He never assumed an “elitist” attitude or stance. Rather He went out into the highways and byways and out into the fields to share the love of God. He had to go outside. The church was too elite a group and wouldn’t accept Him.

LORD, please expose our idolatrous pursuits that we may share the holy, unadulterated, love of God with those who don’t know you!

