Tags

, ,

Exodus 20:14
Thou shalt not commit adultery.

It seems apparent, to me, that adultery is wrong and carries with it great pain for all involved with such a situation, whether directly a part of the physical act or only a loved one of someone involved in an adulterous situation. As wrong as that is, how much more so, is it wrong, to allow myself to be drawn away from the Lord by allowing my heart to have a secret adulterous relationship with money, possessions, places or power.

There is nothing wrong with power, possessions or places so long as they are given to me by the Lord and controlled by Him. How am I going to allow those things, however, to be first in my life when Jesus loved me so much, He left the right hand of our Father and allowed Himself to be crucified on a cross at Calvary. He did all of that so I could be with Him for eternity.

That’s a lot different from us. We don’t mind certain people being around us for a set period of time. However, we are not going to die so they can be with us all the time. How can I allow anything to come between me and the kind of love Jesus displayed for me without being guilty of spiritual adultery? If we are nurturing and protecting our relationship with the lover of our soul, as we should be, I don’t see how we can possibly have time to be judging and controlling anyone else’s life.

How would I feel if my spouse treated me and our relationship the same way I handle my relationship with the Lord? 1 Corinthians 11:31, “For if we would judge ourselves, we should not be judged.” Let us judge ourselves. If we spent as much time thinking about and judging ourselves as we do others, I think we would be much farther down the road in our relationship with the Lord.

Jesus gave His last drop of life for us. Let us be careful to not allow anything to come between us and the lover of our soul. I will benefit from that and so will everyone who I cross paths with on my journey home.

