Tags

, , ,

Exodus 20:15
Thou shalt not steal.

To take something that doesn’t belong to us is obviously wrong. In addition to being wrong it is illegal and immoral. We teach our children, as soon as the occasion arises, that stealing is wrong. Even the unchurched know it’s wrong to take what doesn’t belong to you. Yet we can be guilty of the very same thing.

It is quite clear that we are not the originator or giver of life. All life is given by God Almighty, our Creator. That is why we are not to take away life. We can’t give life therefore we are not to take life. Yet don’t we often use our life energies to do what we wish and what pleases us rather than using it to serve the LORD and accomplish His will? God gives me the breath of life and don’t I steal that breath when I use it for myself instead of for God’s purpose.

When I care for and support my family, by investing the breath of life given to me, in whatever God has set before me, for me to do, I am using my life and investing wisely in the Kingdom of God. Contrariwise when I use my breath is pursuit of my own pleasure and I neglect the responsibilities God has placed in my life, am I not stealing from God and from those who depend upon me?

Thou shalt not steal. I may never consider taking something that isn’t mine and I would be outraged if someone stole from me, but how does that translate into my everyday life? Thou shalt not steal, not even the breath of life that the LORD has given me to live for Him and to support those He has appointed to me in this life.

Deuteronomy 24:7, “If a man be found stealing any of his brethren of the children of Israel, and maketh merchandise of him, or selleth him; then that thief shall die; and thou shalt put evil away from among you.”

We should never steal things but moreover we certainly should never steal life.

