Tags

, , , , ,

Exodus 20:17
Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s.

To covet means simply to delight greatly or desire greatly. There are seven things that belong to my neighbor that I am not to delight in greatly or desire greatly. My neighbor’s house, his wife, manservant, maidservant, ox, ass, nor anything else that is his. Seven is the number of completion as God finished all His creative works and rested the seventh day.

If the Lord gave it to my neighbor then it is his and not mine and I am not to imagine what great pleasure it would bring me and greatly desire to have that thing for myself. No wonder the great Apostle Paul said in Philippians 4:11, “Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.” Where ever the Lord has been pleased to place me today is where I am to be content.

If we haven’t learned to be grateful for and appreciate the pennies, nickles, dimes and quarters of life are we going to be grateful and appreciate the dollars of life? If I am unable to take care of what I have with gratitude, why should I have more? It doesn’t mean that the poor are not grateful people it just means that I am to learn to love the Lord and be grateful for what He has given me right where I am, instead of taking pleasure in and desiring what He has given someone else.

The gifts and things of life are to be secondary and my pleasure and delight is to be in the Giver and not in His gifts. When we, as human beings, give gifts, it is to express our love to the receiver of the gift. Not because we want the gift to take our place in the receiver’s life. Likewise with our blessed Lord. He gives us gifts to express His love to us and to help us do His will and fulfill His plan for our life. Not so that we begin to worship and fall in love with the things we have acquired in life and push Jesus Christ to the bottom of our priority list.

