Tags

, , , , , ,

Proverbs 15:18
A wrathful man stirreth up strife: but he that is slow to anger appeaseth strife.

If I am a person who has unreconciled issues on the inside that has caused me to approach life and relationships through anger I can expect to continually run into strife. The anger inside of myself is going to unconsciously stir up strife where ever I go and thereby creating opportunities to be able to vent itself.

Psalm 139:14 says, “I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.” We are as complex and as great a thing as God has ever created. The unconscious part of our being is a powerful thing and often controls our conscious actions without us understanding what is going on. After knowing God the next greatest thing we can know is ourselves. When we finally begin to really know and understand ourselves we have arrived at the beginning of the best part of our lives.

A wrathful man stirreth up strife: but he that is slow to anger appeaseth strife. What an awesome day it is when I have matured to the place that instead of starting a fire everywhere I go, I am able to pour the Love of God and His peaceful, calm waters on the burning strife of my neighbor. That is only possible after I learn to put out the fires of strife in my own life.

When Jacob was returning to the land after having to leave because his brother Esau hated him, Jacob met Esau and bowed himself before his brother seven times. Bowing himself before his before was a picture of Jacob humbling himself before his brother. Jacob could have been holding onto a grudge and he could have been harboring an attitude with his brother but he wasn’t. He had learned how to reconcile with himself on the inside.

So when Esau met Jacob with four hundred men, intending to get even with Jacob because Jacob had been given the birthright, Jacob was able to put out his brother’s raging strife and anger towards him. Jacob knew how to appease strife because he had dealt with his own.

