Tags

, , , , , , ,

Isaiah 61:8
For I the LORD love judgment, I hate robbery for burnt offering; and I will direct their work in truth, and I will make an everlasting covenant with them.

When, as human beings, we think of judgment, our idea is this gavel pounding judge punishing the evil doers and meting out sentences of judgment. However, judgment is something way beyond that. The LORD loves judgment but He is not some big mean thing that loves to sit around and punish people.

The LORD loves judgment. Judgment is really fairness, equity and doing right. The LORD loves it when we treat each other with fairness and equity. The easiest way to figure out what is fair and equitable in a situation is to place yourself in the shoes of whoever you are dealing with. If that were you in their place, how would you wish to be dealt with?

The LORD loves judgment. It does not mean He loves punishing people and that He gets all this great pleasure from being able to punish. It means that He loves it when we deal with others through fairness and in equity. How am I going to walk through life doing whatever I wish to others, taking whatever I want, only worrying about myself and then come to worship the LORD like I am totally consecrated and dedicated to Him?

The LORD loves when I have treated people fairly and with equity and then come into His presence to worship Him. He hates when we come before Him after we have robbed people of their reputation, their testimony, their possessions or we have misused and abused their life’s breath and energy, which has been entrusted to us, as a pastor, employer, spouse or parent.

There is no real pleasure and satisfaction in punishing someone. Yes wrong should be punished, for many reasons, however, the real pleasure and satisfaction comes from treating someone with fairness and equity. Real judgment is in judging how I should treat someone by placing myself in their circumstances.

