Tags

, , , , ,

1 Thessalonians 5:18-19
In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. Quench not the Spirit.

“In” everything give thanks. There is a difference between “in” and “for”.

Some things that happen in life are too ugly and too bad to give thanks for them, but we can certainly still give thanks in the middle of that ugliness. We may not be thankful for the ugly thing that happened but in the middle of the ugliness we can still be thankful that our God is bigger than all of the ugliness. We can give thanks in the middle of the ugliness that He loves us, that He walks with us and that He will meet all of our needs as we walk on with Him.

I do believe that it will take eternity to understand, if ever, some of the things that human beings do to one another. However, even in the middle of the ugliness, I can still give thanks that I know and have a relationship with the Creator of all things.

The Apostle Paul instructed the Thessalonians to, not quench the Spirit. How do I not quench the Spirit? I don’t quench the Spirit by giving thanks in all things. When I give thanks in all things I allow the Spirit of God to work in my life. The key to allowing the Spirit of God to work in your life is to give thanks “in” all things.

Genesis 15:1
After these things the word of the LORD came unto Abram in a vision, saying, Fear not, Abram: I am thy shield, and thy exceeding great reward.

After everything Abraham had been through up to this point, he took a stand in the end of chapter 14 and said to the king of Sodom, in so many words, I don’t want anything you have. God will give me what I need. So “in” the middle of all Abram had been through, he was still looking to the LORD, therefore the LORD comes to Abram in Genesis 15:1. Abram had not quenched the Spirit of God.

