Tags

, , , , , ,

1 John 4:10
Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.

True love is giving and true love is forgiving. If we really love then we are for giving or forgiving. True love is for giving forgiveness to someone who has wronged us. True love gives and is something that goes out from us while hate is something that takes and is an action in towards myself instead of extending love outward toward another.

That is why hating someone who has hurt you and wronged you and holding bitterness and unforgiveness is so destructive to ourselves and can have zero effect upon the one who is guilty. I must love and forgive for myself even if the guilty party never recognizes or acknowledges their wrong and even if the guilty party never asks for forgiveness.

By giving love and forgiveness, I expel the negative energy in my being that was caused by their wrong. If I hold onto unforgiveness and bitterness over what they did to me I am internalizing hatred and that will have negative consequences on whatever I do and on whatever relationships I am involved with.

Thus, we human beings, repeat the same cycle over and over in our life. Always attempting to dispel the negative energy of hatred and unforgiveness inside of us and yet drawing in and internalizing the very thing we are trying so desperately to rid ourselves of.

How did God, the Creator of all things, model love for us. John 3:16, “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” He modeled love by giving. He gave to a world that had rejected Him and sinned against Him and He gave to a world that would, in large part, reject His gift. Yet He performed an outgoing deed, giving His only Begotten Son to die in someone else’s place, because He loved.

There is no greater example. Lord, teach us to love as you first loved us!

