Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Psalm 4:5
Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the LORD.

David was in great distress when he wrote this Psalm and he was learning how to find gladness in his heart while traveling through a distressful situation. It was the Prophet Samuel who came and sought David out as the young David was out shepherding his father’s sheep. It was the Prophet Samuel who anointed David king over Israel. It was not David’s idea and David was not looking for the position when Samuel came to him, by command of the LORD.

As a result of God’s plan for his life David had to flee for his very life from King Saul who was consumed by jealousy over David. King Saul was tormented by fear of losing his position to David and sought to apprehend and kill David in order to prevent David from ascending to the throne. Saul could have taken David in and become a mentor to him and most likely would have kept his position on the throne longer. Instead he spent much time and resources on pursuing David and trying to kill him.

As a result of a situation that he was not responsible for creating, David suffered much distress. Distress, as David used it in this Psalm, means I am in a narrow, tight place because an enemy, an oppressor or a foe is after me. So David felt like he was in a narrow tight place with nowhere to go because Saul wanted to kill him.

It is at this point that David makes the bold statement, “Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the LORD.”

Do what’s right and then put your trust in the LORD. Doing what is right, many times is a sacrifice. We are often placed in distressful situations that are not of our making with no easy choices. The only real choice is to just do what is right and then put your trust in the LORD. Human beings sometimes do their best to destroy you for doing what’s right. This I know for certain though, if I do what is right and put my trust in the LORD, everything will work out for my good and for God’s glory.

It is also a surety that when I do what is right, I will have gladness in my heart and rest and peace in my life. Psalm 4:7-8, Thou hast put gladness in my heart, more than in the time that their corn and their wine increased. I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety.

