Tags

, ,

Deuteronomy 8:6
Therefore thou shalt keep the commandments of the LORD thy God, to walk in his ways, and to fear him.

Moses is instructing the children of Israel in Deuteronomy 8 and he tells them that the LORD brought them through the wilderness to prove them and to teach them that man does not live by bread alone but by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of the LORD. In so many words, it was I, the LORD that fed you and took care of you for forty years in the wilderness and it will be I that gives you the Promised Land and prospers you in the land.

It is the LORD that gets us through the hard times and it is the LORD who causes us to prosper and do well in the abundant times. I wasn’t tough enough to survive the hard times and I’m not smart enough to cause prosperity. It was the LORD both times.

Moses was warning the children of Israel to not forget it was the LORD that delivered them out of bondage and brought them through the wilderness because they were getting ready to go into the Promised Land and possess it. Our temptation in the good times is to forget that it was the LORD that brought us through the hard times and that it is the LORD that prospers us in the good times.

It is easy, as human beings, to allow an attitude of, I made it through that and because I did so well God is blessing me now. We didn’t make it through the hard times. It was God who brought us through the hard times. God is not blessing me because I did so well. God is blessing me because He is my Father and He loves me.

If we forget it was God that brought us through the hard times then we will forget it is God that is blessing us and prospering us in the good times. May we never forget where we were when the LORD picked us up out of the miry clay and set our feet upon the rock to stay!

