Tags

, , , , , , ,

Faith

1 Corinthians 2:5
That your faith should not stand in the wisdom of men, but in the power of God.

I sometimes feel like if I could just come up with enough faith then the LORD would do some certain thing that I have been praying about. How do I increase my faith so that it is big enough to cause something to come into visibility?

The Apostle Paul said that our faith is not to stand in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.

Now there most assuredly are wise men in this world who have learned much through experience and science. We can learn from those men and should do so as the LORD directs. However with all that men know they still do not possess the kind of power that God Almighty possesses.

For example, man has enough power and knowledge to destroy each other and could even destroy this planet that we live on if they so choose to do so. However they do not have the knowledge and the power to create those universes and all the many forms of life that we know about inside those universes.

God’s power is greater than man’s wisdom. I should learn what I can from man’s wisdom but my faith is to be in God’s power and not in man’s wisdom. Man has much wisdom but there is an end to man’s wisdom. There is no end to God’s power. God Almighty is able to create whatever I need out of nothing with just one thought from His infinite and divine mind. When everything I know is exhausted and when the wisdom of man around me is not working I can stand on the power of God.

Once upon a time Peter was in a boat with all the Disciples in the middle of a horrible storm. The storm was so bad that they didn’t recognize Jesus when He came walking up to them on top of the water. When Peter finally recognized Jesus he climbed out of the boat and went walking to Jesus on the water. At this point Peter was already beyond the wisdom of man which caused Peter to start looking at the waves.

When Peter’s wisdom was insufficient to overcome the waves he called on Jesus. Jesus reached out and took Peter by the hand and immediately they were in the ship.

Our faith is not to stand in the wisdom of men but in the power of God. When everything you know isn’t working, stand on the power of God. It is bigger than any storm.

