Tags

, , ,

Isaiah 66:13
As one whom his mother comforteth, so will I comfort you; and ye shall be comforted in Jerusalem.

The Bible uses the word comfort three times in this verse of scripture. It is used in all three tenses, past, present and future. Therefore we can understand that God’s comfort is very important and it is omnipresent.

Comfort, as used here, means to lament and to grieve because of the misery of others. It also means to be revenged and to take vengeance. Ezekiel 5:13, “Thus shall mine anger be accomplished, and I will cause my fury to rest upon them, and I will be comforted: and they shall know that I the LORD have spoken it in my zeal, when I have accomplished my fury in them.”

As our mother removed the things that were causing us grief and discomfort and provided safety and nourishment while we developed into a mature person, so will the LORD do now, as we travel the path He has laid out for us, until we reach the New Jerusalem, were we shall abide in the comfort of His personal presence.

Sometimes in life even those who are supposed to be filled with God’s comfort are harsh and judgmental and with their actions and attitudes drive away those that are looking for God’s comfort. God’s comfort will be displayed in both those that claim the LORD’s Name and refuse to comfort others and in those who need God’s comfort and was refused it by those who had been partakers of God’s comfort.

We are given God’s comfort so that we may share it with others. How am I going to share something that I don’t have? It is not so difficult to lament and grieve for someone when they are going through pain if it is not their fault and is just something life dealt them. However it can be difficult to comfort someone when their pain is due to their own bad choices. That is quite unlike Jesus Christ though. I was a sinner wrapped in the discomfort of my own bad choices when Jesus Christ gave me His unconditional love and comforted me as a mother comforts her child. So who am I to decide when I should comfort someone and when I shouldn’t?

