Tags

, , , ,

Mark 6:12
And they went out, and preached that men should repent.

Jesus gave His disciples spiritual power to pray for people, cast out devils and heal the sick and it was all for the purpose of people being able to hear the message of repentance. Jesus told the disciples you will experience rejection and there will be those that put you out but shake the dust off your feet and move on.

He told the disciples to preach that men should repent. To preach means to publish, proclaim openly: something which has been done. The thing that had been done was that a way had been made for men to return to a right relationship with the Creator of all things. Repentance, a simple little thing that costs us nothing but is given to us as a free gift from the One whom it cost everything, even His life, the LORD Jesus Christ.

If we think we are going to die and go to hell for eternity we are not in the least embarrassed to cry and beg the Lord for forgiveness and salvation. Yet somehow after we have walked a ways with the Lord it seems that repentance is something that slips from memory and we no longer practice it. How is it that something that was so life changing when I was afraid of going to hell becomes something embarrassing and something that we ignore?

As Christians I think we can reach a place of complacency where we feel like we are doing okay and practicing this Christian thing pretty good. If we are truly walking with the Lord how can we go one day without seeing something in our life that is unlike this blessed holy Jesus who died for me and saved me? If Jesus can forgive me and change my life as completely as He did when I was estranged from Him, how much more will He do that if I repent for the things I find in my life that are unlike Him as I walk with Him daily?

If the Lord has done good things in my life it is expressly so that I can hear, receive and practice the most radical life changing Christian principle available to me called repentance. Romans 2:4, “Or despisest thou the riches of his goodness and forbearance and longsuffering; not knowing that the goodness of God leadeth thee to repentance?”

