Tags

, , ,

Proverbs 4:18-19
But the path of the just is as the shining light, that shineth more and more unto the perfect day. The way of the wicked is as darkness: they know not at what they stumble.

The perfect day means a day when we are firm, stable and established in our purpose which is to walk in the light of God. The perfect day in the natural world is at noon when the sun is directly overhead and there are no shadows. The perfect day in our spiritual world is when the Lord is directly overhead and there are no shadows.

Until we mature in our walk with the Lord He can be out in front of us wooing us to a higher place in our relationship with Him. Yet there are some shadows cast behind us that obscure and hide some things that we are not real excited about looking at. As we draw more directly underneath Him with the Lord assuming a more direct role in governing our life, there are things that have been hid in the shadows, which we must look at. Such as weaknesses, faults and failures in our life that need reconciled.

Have you ever noticed how when you have an awesome experience with the Lord and feel closer to Him than ever before that suddenly you see some ugly thing jump up in your life that you thought you had dealt with? You just experienced the Son of Righteousness arise a little higher in your spiritual sky and thus less shadow around you.

The thing about embracing the light is that when we see Jesus Christ in a new way it causes us to see and understand ourselves in a new way. The more I see and understand about Jesus Christ and His unconditional love, the more I will abhor the things in my life that are still unlike the Lord. It is called less shadows and more light.

It is easy to get discouraged after I have an experience with the Lord and the next thing I see is something in my life that is completely unlike Jesus Christ. That doesn’t mean I’m a failure and that doesn’t mean that the Lord is mad at me and trying to whip me. It is a sure sign that I’ve grown in the Lord and there are less shadows around me because I’ve approached a little closer to the perfect day with the Son of God directly overhead.

