Tags

, , , , , ,

Isaiah 49:15-16
Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee. Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands; thy walls are continually before me.

How many times have we wondered if the LORD has forgotten us? The LORD cannot forget us. We are graven upon the palms of His hands. Every time He looks at His hands, there we are. His hands are always with Him and we are always there, graven upon His hands.

To graven means to cut in or on, cut upon, engrave, inscribe, one who decrees or a lawgiver. The most common way this word is translated in the Old Testament is in fact as, lawgiver. Moses is known as the lawgiver and when Moses received the commandments they were inscribed in tables of stone. Just as the commandments were inscribed in stone, we are graven upon the LORD’s hands. How can He forget us?

God’s law is love according to Matthew the twenty second chapter. Therefore I am one of God’s love thoughts, one of God’s laws that are graven upon the palms of His hands.

The works of God’s hands are all expressions of one of His thoughts of love. I am a display of one of God’s thoughts of love. If I therefore mistreat and abuse my neighbor, my brother or my sister, I am assaulting and offending one of God’s thoughts of love. To know the full expression of God’s love I need you or else I have rejected one of God’s love thoughts.

When I become angry and cast someone to the ground because they didn’t behave as I thought they should I am guilty, in principle, of the same thing that Moses did. When Moses came down from receiving the law on the mountain, the children of Israel were out of control. They were eating, drinking, dancing and had made a golden calf. Moses, in his anger, cast down the stone tablets and broke them. Moses then had to go back up the mountain and get an unbroken set.

It doesn’t matter how broken we are, there is coming a day when the LORD will restore us all into His unbroken plan and we will all assume our place and spend eternity displaying the love of the Lawgiver from wherever our place in eternity is.

