Tags

, , , , , ,

Isaiah 53:1-3
He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not. Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted. But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.

Despised, rejected, sorrows and grief. This describes the man Jesus in the perception of the world. It seems that His earthly life was overwhelmingly pain and suffering. He was despised. They said can any good thing come out of Nazareth? He was rejected. They wondered at the gracious words that came out of His mouth when He taught in their Synagogues’ and yet they rejected Him and plotted against Him. In the night season while everyone else slept He was sorrowful even unto death in the Garden of Gethsemane. Then came the grief and suffering of being tried as a criminal and publicly executed.

Despised, rejected, sorrows and grief even unto death. That is the price that was paid for my salvation. Yet we turn our faces from the price paid and gloss it over by living a religion of I am blessed and prosperous. Yes I am blessed and prosperous but the reason that I am is because Jesus Christ paid a price of despised, rejected, sorrow and grief for me.

When I lose sight of the price that He paid for my salvation the result is that ingratitude begins to sneak in and I will lightly esteem the price paid for my soul and will foolishly squander the rich inheritance I have been given.

We hide our faces from Him, as it were, because He was despised, rejected, sorrowful and grieved with the price of our sin. To understand the price He paid was for my sin personally, is humbling and causes me to understand that the shame He carried was mine. That is not something that is easy to look at and feel.

In reality it is the unpleasantness of looking at the shame that Jesus carried that heals me. By His stripes we are healed but we have to look at those stripes and understand that those stripes were mine and belonged on my back. Then the healing power of those stripes can be loosed to heal me body, soul and spirit. I am not healed by hiding my face and not looking at Jesus suffering but I am healed by looking at His stripes and suffering and understanding that was my stripes.

